Williams, with Team Principal Sir Frank Williams and daughter and Deputy team principal Claire Williams at the helm go into the 2019 season with a renewed enthusiasm for F1 after a trying 2018.

Williams’ 2018 car, the Williams FW41 suffered from insurmountable flaws which led to the team finishing bottom of both the F1 World Constructors Championship and the F1 World Drivers Championship for the first time in their history.

For 2019, Williams have recruited two new drivers to driver their new car, the Williams FW42 – Poland’s Robert Kubica, returning to F1 after a forced hiatus of eight years following a crash whilst rallying led to serious injuries leaving his F1 career in serious doubt, and Mercedes junior George Russell from Norfolk who will be making his debut in F1 with Williams in the 2019 Australian Grand Prix on 17th March.

Paddy Lowe continues as Williams’ CTO, and hopes to set the team on course for an improvement in their fortunes following a dip in performance in recent years.

Williams Grand Prix Engineering were founded in 1977 by Sir Frank Williams and Sir Patrick Head, the team making their debut in the 1977 Spanish Grand Prix when driver Patrick Neve brought a Williams Grand Prix Engineering Williams entered March-Ford home in 12th position.

The team soon built their own chassis, the Williams FW06 which they used in the 1978 Formula 1 season where Alan Jones, Williams’ sole driver scored three top six finishes including a second place – Williams Grand Prix Engineering’s first podium in the US Grand Prix at Watkins Glen.

Williams Grand Prix Engineering’s first win followed in 1979 when Jones’ team mate Clay Regazzoni took the chequered flag first at Williams’ home race at the 1979 British Grand Prix at Silverstone.

Williams Grand Prix Engineering wouldn’t have to wait long for their first F1 World Championship, as a year after their first win, and just three years after their Formula 1 debut, Alan Jones beat Brabham’s Nelson Piquet to the 1980 title sealing the F1 world constructors championship in the process.

14 more titles would follow in the ensuing two decades, with, to date, 114 wins being scored by Williams drivers in Formula 1 – a record only beaten by Ferrari and McLaren.