Latest Williams News

2019 Williams driver George Russell wins 2018 F2 championship

November 24, 2018

Britain’s George Russell has sealed the 2018 F2 championship with a win in the Abu Dhabi feature race – penultimate race of the 2018 Formula 2 season.

Russell, who will drive for Williams in Formula 1 in 2019 alongside returning hero Robert Kubica, sealed the championship with one race to spare.

The win in Abu Dhabi was Russell’s seventh of the year, and took his points tally for the season to an unassailable 275, which he later built on with a 4th place in the sprint race, giving him a total of 287 for the season.

Second place in the championship was Lando Norris, who will join Russell in Formula 1 next season, taking one of the places vacated by the retiring Fernando Alonso and the ousted Stoffel Vandoorne at McLaren.

“It’s been a very long and tough year for myself and ART, and we’ve worked really hard and probably from Baku we’ve been one of the quickest on track every single time.”

“It’s been a little difficult to get this across the line. But that pole yesterday you saw the emotions there, and obviously we knew what we had to do today: to win it in style, and that’s what we did.” Russell said of his championship win.

Having spent the season at the AMG Mercedes F1 team as reserve driver, George Russell will now join his new F1 team Williams in the post-season two-day Pirelli Formula 1 test at the Yas Marina circuit in Abu Dhabi on Tuesday.

This will give the Williams team, and other teams with new driver line-ups for next season an opportunity to work with their new stars for the first time.

It’s also an chance for George and his fellow drivers to begin work in earnest for the 2019 Formula 1 season, a little less than 48 hours after the 2018 campaign ended.

It’s also a chance for Pirelli to debut their 2019 tyres, with which they hope to widen the scope of Grand Prix tyre strategy with tyres that degrade more readily.


Leave a Reply

Avatar placeholder

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *